Here’s a list

Hey, y’all sorry for the lack of updates on this thing. Life has finally settled down into somewhat of a routine, and I’ve found some free time to talk about what life has been like for the past few weeks. I think lists are a great way to communicate so here’s a list of things I’ve noticed/learned in the last two weeks.

  1. Always have something to do on the bus/T rides. My family has (read: I have) a data usage problem, so the addition of my library card has been an excellent way to curb my need to scroll through Instagram while also allowing me time to read for pleasure, which doesn’t happen all that often. If you have any book recommendations let me know! I’ve also gotten pretty good at solitaire.
  2. Fresh is always best. I’m not sure if I mentioned this before but for the first half of our time spent in Bean Town, all of the food we eat has to be from local sources. Before I got here if someone had tried to start a conversation with me about the importance of eating locally I don’t think I would remember it. Now, I love talking about it. I’ll be honest, I still have a lot to learn but something that I can say with 100% certainty is that buying local anything will always be delicious.
  3. Game of Thrones is a great t.v. show. I know I’m very late to this party, but better late than never, right? One of my roommates, Mary Kate, told me that if we watched the first season of GOT I could pick her Halloween costume. The show has been a great way to cultivate a sense of community and dislike to the Lannisters. We finished the first season last night so picking Mary Kate’s costume has been added to my to-do list, suggestions happily welcomed!
  4. Apparently, in Boston, 60 degrees isn’t that cold. Okay, so I get it, I moved here knowing full well that I would experience more winter and cold than summer and heat. But come on it’s not even October and it feels like the one day of actual “winter” (if you could call it that) that we get back in Tampa. And this isn’t even winter, it’s the one season I’ve only experienced through movies and t.v. shows, Fall. In my brain, I just keep thinking it’s going to get worse. I remind myself that there are fun things to look forward to the leaves changing colors, the apple picking, among other classic Fall activities. I also have to keep reminding myself that it’s only a few months and they invented hot coffee and wool socks for a reason
  5. God is so good all the time and all the time God is so good. So I’ve been working at a church in South Boston and I love it. The service is amazing, the music is wonderful, and the sense of community and belonging one feels there, even if it’s their first time, is unmatched. I’m so grateful to be serving in a church where everyone is welcome regardless of who they are, where they come from, or what they’ve done. I don’t think I’ve ever felt that authenticity more than at Fourth, so thanks for that everyone! I’m thankful that this is the place God has me working for the next 10 months, and even more hopeful and excited to see what He’ll reveal to me through this time!

That’s all I have for now. Things are slowly but surely starting to feel more normal, and this amazing city is starting to feel like home! Thanks for reading!

-Katie

One thought on “Here’s a list

Leave a Reply

