I started a blog…

Hey, everyone! I’m finally settled down in Boston so I thought now would be a good time to update everyone on what’s been going on since I left Tampa. I said goodbye to my parents and what felt like everything else that I knew in Tampa on August, 22 and headed for quite literally greener pastures. I arrived with fellow YAVs to the Stoney Point Retreat Center after a long day of traveling and was greeted with one of the best dinners that I’ve had in a long time. Sorry, mom!

Stoney Point describes themselves on their website as “A multifaith commitment to radical hospitality, (don’t you just love that?), affirmed by the Presbyterian Church (USA)” you can learn all about Stoney Point by clicking here! I’d like to say that the radical hospitality that’s mentioned is a completely accurate way to describe how I felt. I’m amazed that just about an hour’s drive away from the Big Apple this terrific sanctuary ready to welcome all who wander in.

I spent a lot of time over the week wrestling with the fact that I while what I am doing is good work, the organizations that I’ll be volunteering at have done just fine without me in the past, and will continue to do well without me long after I’m gone. Coming to terms with the fact that I will not be this amazing solution to all of Boston’s issues in a year, or even in my lifetime, was a very humbling and relieving moment. I can’t explain how great it felt to realize that my work here doesn’t have to change the world, but it can be my part of the puzzle that brings The Kingdom a little closer to earth. Y’all I’m so excited.

Orientation continued with many more amazing meals, some very insightful seminars, and one amazing dance party and just like that it was over and we were all headed off to our different locations for the rest of the year. If you want to see a list of where all my new friends are serving for the year you can click here!

While we only arrived in Boston a few days ago I feel like we’ve already learned so much. We spent the first couple of days navigating the T, the greater Boston area subway system, checking out our neighborhood, and what’s kept us busiest is going to everyone’s work sites and learning about what we’ll all be doing this fall. My fellow YAVs are doing some amazing things and I can’t wait to hear more about their work as the year progresses. I’ll be working at Children’s HealthWatch all year and what I’ll be doing mostly is advocacy work for breakfast in the classroom in the state of Massachusetts. You can learn all about Children’s HealthWatch and the amazing work they do here!

Finally last night we had all of the Boston YAV board members over for a potluck dinner at our house and it was a really great night, the food was delicious, the conversation was great, and I think everyone left feeling excited about the year!

That’s all I have for now expect another update soon! Thanks for reading!

-Katie

One thought on “I started a blog…

  1. Vibha C Deegan says:

    This is awesome KMac!!! I wish you the best of luck. You are going to kill it and infect everyone with your dazzling personality. You are off to great things! Love you lots — Vibs

    Like

Leave a Reply

